Vivid Festival Sydney

I’m in Sydney again visiting my dad, and as luck would have it, there is an arts festival on at Circular Quay, where I’m staying, based around the theme of light and sound. I wandered around tonight and took some photos with my new camera – I learned a lot by trial and error about what works and doesn’t work with night photography!

The Quay was awash with light and colour…

Bold patterns played on buildings…

Even the Opera House was included in the festivities…

These girls put on some cool moves just as I pressed the shutter…

And this image turned out so much better than I could have imagined…

This sculpture had interactive chimes – I love the way the girl is looking up at them…

And this little girl on her father’s shoulders…

And then, just to cap off the night of light and serendipity, there was an eclipse of the moon! I only knew about it because the man next to me was talking about the sun being behind the earth. I looked up and there it was!

My camera definitely got a workout tonight. A reminder that sometimes the nicest surprises happen when you’re not looking for them.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Vivid Festival Sydney

  1. Wow–fabulous photos! Truly “illuminating” art! I love having the modern day equivalent of a pen pal half way across the globe. In our local “Wisconsin State Journal” on Friday, they had a story about two women who became real pen pals during their teens and corresponded for forty years. Recently, they met for the first time when the Tasmanian came to the States with her husband.
    I, too, had a pen pal decades ago. She lived in Bourg-en-Bresse, France (still have a letter-opener she sent me), but that exchange was rather short-lived. Thanks for sharing!
    Kathy

  2. I haven’t thought about it like that but you’re right, blogging is probably the closest thing to pen pals now that writing actual letters has gone out of fashion… it’s a good window into another world. Not that I feel very exotic, Australia is so normal to me! But there is a lot of beauty here and it’s good to record it.

  3. These are some beautiful shots of the neon lights. I imagine that they are very difficult to photograph with the bright light against the dark night background. You did a great job capturing the fun and excitement of the festival!

  4. Thanks Jackie – actually I have minimal technical skills with photography, I think the camera did all the work! Next goal is to get a tripod so I can expand my range. It’s addictive!

  5. Pingback: How I Really Feel About Sydney | themolesworthdiaries

Leave a comment