I’m Back!

Well really, I never went away – I’ve been here on the block, doing lots of building, but no blogging. Not because I haven’t wanted to, but a few things got in the way. The main one being, I lost the cable for charging my camera and transferring photos for a few months. Luckily, a surprise cleanout of my car (not sure who was more surprised, the car at being cleaned or me for cleaning it) turned up the miscreant cable. So here’s a whirlwind tour of the last three months, in pictures:

Firstly, mum and bub wallaby dropped by for a graze outside the cottage.

We had a bushfire in the Derwent Valley. It started up the other end from where I am, but by the time I took this picture we were ready to jump in the car and go. Luckily the rains came that night and we were spared.

We spent a night tramping around the bush with a laser to work out where to put the water tank (it needed to be 12m higher than the house). In the process, we discovered the laser makes a really cool pattern when you shine it on grass stalks!

We poured the slab, a mammoth undertaking. That guy at the front there is 79 years old. He and his twin brother were called in by our concretor to help. They were a crack team!

And after the slab, the deck.

We harvested some goodies from the veggie garden…

Mr Boots had some much needed naps…

And the valley veiled itself beautifully in mist…

And now you’re all up to date! I’ll try not to leave it so long next time. Hope all is well in your part of the world, wherever you may be.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’m Back!

  1. Love the new photos! I was reminded of you the other day because I have a new FB friend from down under. We met by participating in some limerick challenges & then I discovered the blog “Notes on a Serviette”.
    Here in Wisconsin, we’re enjoying our springtime and the return of the hummingbirds. I imagine in Tasmania, your nights are getting cooler. Keep us posted 🙂

    • Hi Kathy, great to hear from you! Glad to hear you’re still doing the limericks… I would love to see hummingbirds in the wild – I’ll have to content myself with the robins, they are out in force this autumn.

  2. You’ve certainly been busy over the past month! Glad that you weren’t affected by those wildfires.
    What is the next step on your house?
    Mr. Boots looks like he’s been his usual self. 🙂

  3. Well it’s more like the last 3 months, but thanks 🙂 Next on the house we are putting up the frame and roofing and cladding it – in building lingo it’s called getting to lockup. So that will be a milestone. Mr Boots just gets fatter, lazier, and more whiney every day. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

