The Molesworth Diaries Turn One!

Logging on to this blog today I couldn’t help but notice that it was a year ago today that I wrote my first ever post!

Happy 1st birthday Molesworth Diaries!

A lot’s changed since then, thank god. A year ago I was stuck in a damp chilly caravan with no electricity as it steadfastly rained every darned day of summer. Did I mention I was trying to build the road to the house at the time? As I was to find out, constant rain does not sit happily with major roadwork projects.

But finally, the road was laid, I no longer had to walk 3/4km to my front gate in gumboots just to drive to work, and finally, we finished the cottage to live in until the main house is built.

Cottage, how I love thee...

Ah, the cottage. A better antidote to six months of dark, damp living amongst leaking tents and cold, mouldy caravans could not be imagined. It is a gorgeous little thing, and I plan to turn it into my art and writing studio when I have a proper house at last.  It’s true, 24 square metres is a teeeeensy bit squeezy for two people plus cat and budgie. But it’s warm and solidly built and now even boasts electricity 🙂 What more could a girl want?

A house, that’s what! A house! And it’s coming. It’s really happening. My updated plans are being drawn up and soon they will be winging their way to council for approval. I just need to sort the plumbing out, but that is a story for another day. By the end of this month we are planning to lay the slab, which is both the end of an incredibly convoluted journey of dreaming and planning, and the beginning of building a real actual house!

Okay, so my house isn't quiiiiite like this one...

So while I’ve spent most of the week obsessing over tapware, and figuring out the intricacies of a gravity fed solar/wetback hot water system (as I said, story for another day), it’s really great to have this anniversary to pause, take stock, and give myself a little pat on the back (actually make that a big walloping hearty backslap, please) for how far I’ve come in this last year. And thankyou to you, Dear Reader, for coming along on this journey with me. Let’s raise a glass and make a toast to the year to come – may it bring many successful projects and exciting adventures for us all! *ching ching*

*ching ching!*

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Molesworth Diaries Turn One!

  1. Jackie Cangro says:

    Happy Blogaversary! It’s so much fun to come along on your journey and see your dream take shape. I love the idea of turning the cottage into a writing studio someday. It looks like the perfect, quiet place to write a great novel. 🙂

  2. Thanks Jackie – it is a lovely space perfect for creating. I’m mostly a non-fiction writer so I will leave it to you to write the great novel when you come to housesit!

Leave a Reply

