Decorating Ideas For A House That Doesn’t Exist Yet

As you may have gathered from this post, I am quite a fan of things Moroccan. Not only do I love the flavours of the cuisine, I am obsessed with all aspects of Moroccan design – the couryards and fountains, the beautiful patterns and colours, the rich fabrics and embroidered cushions. So, though my house doesn’t even exist yet, I am already decorating it in my head. Here are some of my favourite images from the tumblr site Interior Alchemy:

Too much? Nooooo....

I love the opulence of this room. And the combination of the patinated metal of the mirror with the velvet drapes.

Okay, so I'm probably not going to paint my entire bedroom sky blue. But I'm in awe of this use of colour.

Moroccan inspiration from Australian interiors designer Sibella Court

I think Islamic art is some of the most beautiful in the world.

I love magical garden spaces. What defines ‘magical’? It’s hard to describe, but I know it when I see it. However courtyards, greenhouses, wrought iron and rusted metalwork, old stone and brick, mosaic, old windows, climbing plants and flowers, and sculpture are a good start….

I dream of a courtyard like this with an orange grove and pomegranate trees....

I am obsessed with greenhouses. Obsessed. So of course I have one included on my house plans!

I also love decorative metal features. I have a fantasy of having a forge and making wrought iron pieces for the house and garden.

This flower arrangement is as beautiful as a painting...

Glass, plants, and filtered light...what's not to love?

What about you? Do you have a dream house or garden?

This entry was posted in The Build, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Decorating Ideas For A House That Doesn’t Exist Yet

  1. jacquelincangro says:

    I love all of the bright, vibrant colors and the ornate detailing. I can see why you would want to decorate your new house in this style. When will your house be ready?
    i would love to have a garden. I don’t have a green thumb at all, but I think I would enjoy puttering around in the dirt and watching things grow (hopefully).

    • ‘When will my house be ready?’ – what an excellent question! I need to have it finished within a year though will take a few miracles to meet that deadline I think… Gardening is amazing, just a whole new world. I’m planning a bunch of fruit trees, and my favourite flowers, and lots and lots of raspberries and blueberries. The trick is to keep the ever-rapacious possums out or they will make off with the lot!

  2. A Peace Corps friend posted some really gorgeous Morocco pictures on Facebook today. Let’s see if this link will work:
    http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.249356791760839.76984.220845484611970&type=3

    Hope you’re enjoying the holiday season down there!

Leave a Reply

