Generators and Sculpture Gardens

Mute, unmoving, and staunchly refusing to work

A quick update posted from work today, as my generator has decided to stop working. The reason, as usual, is unknown. I have filled it with its favourite type of petrol, I have poured specially bought lightweight motor oil into its insides, I have swapped the days-old sparkplug for one fresh out of the box. Still nothing. No matter how enthusiastically I pull the starter cord the generator sits there, mute and unmoving, staunch in its refusal to do so much as cough its engine.

So now I have no fridge, no lights, and no computer access at home. Pretty standard for about 80% of the world’s population, but I’m a pampered first-worlder, goddamn it – I like my electronic gadgetry and my lights at night, and I have a tendency to sulk when I can’t have them.  It does make you wonder how we as a global community are going to move to a low-carbon economy when a self-proclaimed environmentalist like myself throws a hissy fit every time her generator won’t work.

In other news, The Ex is heading back to Tassie this week to help me with some building projects, so hopefully I’ll have a lot more to report on things happening with the block. I’m not sure I want to go ahead and build the big house still, I’m going to do my own brand of feasibility and risk assessment, and decide if it’s the way to go at this time. I definitely would like to have electricity and running water, I think after a year of generators and sponge baths I’m ready to rejoin civilization.

There are so many things I want to do on the block. Apart from finishing the cottage and getting power and water, I am really keen to start a garden and grow my own fruit and veggies. This brings with it the question of how to keep possums and wallabies out, because as a combined force they will pretty much strip and destroy any kind of garden you plant in the bush if it’s not protected. And further down the track, I would love to make art, especially sculpture and mosaic, for the garden. Actually, I am a bit obsessed with sculpture gardens, and I will confess I dream of having my own one day that is so amazing people come from far and wide to see it.  There’s something about the combination of artworks and gardens (or nature) that tickles my fancy. Here’s a couple of photographs of my favourite sculpture gardens:

Tarot Garden, Tuscany by Nikki de Saint Phaille

 
 

Nek Chand Rock Garden, Chandigarh

This entry was posted in The Build, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Generators and Sculpture Gardens

  1. huge says:

    Great photographs! Hope you’re back online soon. Have you tried hitting the generator with a large hammer? While it won’t get it working I usually find it’s quite satisfying…

  2. I’m pleased to report the generator is up and running again! I think it was just having a sulk…

Leave a Reply

