Dreams, Unstuck

Please to meet you, Mr Branson

I’ve been feeling all year like things are going to change in the Spring, and guess what – Spring is less than one week away here in the Southern Hemisphere, time to get cracking!

In a couple of weeks I’m planning on having a huge brainstorming session with a friend, to generate ideas and left-of-field solutions around career, house, and life in general. In the meantime, I’m doing what I can to put myself in a receptive and inspirational frame of mind so my creativity and intuition can flow freely.

Today I came across an idea to get ‘unstuck’ by listing a hundred things you’d like to do in life, with a twenty minute time limit to encourage you to not over-think it. When doing exercises like this the aim is to let go of preconceptions about what you ‘should’ do, or what’s ‘possible’ for you, or what you ‘can’ and ‘can’t’ do. In other words dream big, and figure out the nuts and bolts of how you’re going to do it later.

I enjoyed writing my list, and the results kind of surprised me. Even though I knew I could put anything I wanted on this list (after all, that’s the point), what I ended up with was really quite simple. If I had to summarise, my list boils down to: I want to have a house and garden that I love on the block I already own; I want to write books about subjects and ideas that matter to me; I want to feel loved and part of a family; I want a circle of close friends; I want to have lots of pets and animals; I want to travel; I want to be fit and healthy and eat good food; I want to be creative and make art alone and with others; I want to spend lots of time in nature.

Seriously, that’s it. That sums up 90% of what was on my list. And when I read through my list I thought: I can do that. I mean, it’s not like I have ‘world famous movie actress’ on there (all that attention – no thanks) or ‘own my own island’ (I’d either be constantly travelling to get there – hello carbon footprint – or have to live there permanently feeling, um, stuck on an island). Basically all I want to do is hang out at home, write books, feel loved, and stay connected to nature. How hard can it be?

Okay, there are a couple of hairier requests on my list: ‘meet the Dalai Lama and Richard Branson’; ‘be independently wealthy’; ‘write a world-changing book that is a runaway success’. But I figure, once I’ve written my runaway best-seller, Mr Branson and the Dalai Lama will of course want to meet me, and my book royalties will mean I’ll be be rich beyond my wildest dreams. Sorted!

What’s your dream life? Are you taking steps to make it a reality? Or are you already living it?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dreams, Unstuck

  1. jacquelincangro says:

    It sounds like you made a thoughtful list that is quite achievable. I find myself nodding at many of the same things you included. Lists can be great in that they set your intentions and remind you throughout the year to keep reaching for your goals. Good luck and keep us posted!

Leave a Reply

