Cherry-Picking From the Universal Catalogue

I watched my DVD of The Secret again the other night, after a gap of several years. Yes, it’s still got the same bad acting, twangy Australian accents, cheap production values, and questionable, over-simplified conclusions. But this time around a few things really stood out that I’d passed over on the first viewing.

The first was the notion that your current situation is the result of your past thoughts and decisions. Now I’m not sure how you apply this if you have a full-on tragedy occur in your life that isn’t your fault, such as a drunk driver suddenly making you quadriplegic. But in my case, this does make sense. Just about all the things I’m currently whinging about, have been whinging about for years now – well, it’s a bit awkward to admit it, but I can definitely see how I’ve created those situations in my life, or at least contributed heavily to them. And if I’ve been creating them then, just maybe – I could stop creating the crap stuff and start creating the good stuff instead.

The second thing was that old chestnut about the universe being an infinite catalogue that you pick and choose from.  I know, I know. The skeptic in me cocks a cynical eye at that one too. Except – I like the feeling of abundance that it gives me when I think like that. And the thing is – I’ve actually experienced that state where things do come really easily in my life, and I feel happy and fulfilled and excited just to be alive. Humans achieve amazing things and make huge quantum leaps in their lives all the time. There are people all over the world who are living creative, fulfilled, wealthy, happy lives. Why can’t I be one of them?

 The Secret has received a lot of criticism, and much of it is well-earned. I found it particularly interesting seeing Dr John DeMartini talk about how people are sick because their thoughts are making them that way, knowing that his wife has since passed away from breast cancer. Does he still think she just didn’t think ‘positively’ enough?

I guess I’m pretty good at cherry-picking the ideas I want to take on and incorporate into my life. Whether it’s The Secret, or a spiritual guru, or the rules of society, I like to weigh up what’s being presented to me as ‘truth’ and make my own decisions about what I’ll take on board. The concepts of being intentional, visualising what you want to manifest in your life, and taking responsibility for where you’re at are pretty timeless no matter what format you find them in. And if they help me get to where I want to go in my life, then as far as I’m concerned, that can only be a good thing.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cherry-Picking From the Universal Catalogue

  1. http://tedxtalks.ted.com/video/TEDxSantaCruz-Nancy-Abrams-and
    The above is a recent short TED talk that speaks more to my place in the scheme of things than I am able to get from much of The Secret type of New Age stuff … which sort of lost it’s punch for many of us after the experience of 9/11.
    Roger

  2. Thanks Roger I will check it out – I’ve been meaning to look at more TED talks.

Leave a Reply

