Treat Yourself Like a Precious Object

I read a post the other day on yearofkindness, a blog I’ve recently discovered. Cat, the writer of the blog, has made it her goal to practise an act of kindness every day for a year. Anyway, in this post she realises that an important part of being kind is also being kind to yourself. It made me think of this quote (which I think is from Julia Cameron’s The Artist’s Way:

 ‘Treat yourself like a precious object.’

 I think I love this quote so much because it’s something I so need to do, and often don’t. If you read my previous posts, you will notice my recurring observations (okay, whinges) about my day to day life on the block without electricity, running water, or bathroom facilities. The thing is, there’s one reason and one reason only that I’m in this situation. It’s because I chose it. You see, I could quite easily rent a proper house and have electricity and water on tap, or I could just give up on the build and not put myself through the stress. But I love my block and don’t feel right when I’m away from it. And there is no way I’m giving up now having come this far. However, I suspect there is another factor, and that is that my habitual approach to life is just to make things really, really hard for myself.

Back in my hippie days, I remember getting my numerology chart done. As it turned out my chart has an unusual feature called isolated sevens, which was interpreted to me as: I tend to do things the exceptionally hard way. This news came as little surprise to me. My parents struggled terribly through their own lives. They taught their children the fine art of struggling. And I have been a gold-medallist champion struggler for as long as I can remember. I never seem to allow myself quite enough time, money, love, or freedom to get through a task, project, or my life. Underlying my actions and my attitudes seems to be a sense that I am not worth those things, or that those things are not for people like me, or that one day I might have those things but for now I have to do it hard.

You know what? This strategy sucks! So today I am going to put a big sign up on my wall at home (and maybe at work too, what the hell). I think you can guess what it’ll say.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Treat Yourself Like a Precious Object

  1. Treat yourself like a precious object, I love that. Just sums everything up perfectly. I don’t know why it’s so easy to forget and to make life hard for ourselves. Good for you!

    Cat

  2. Mole …
    A whole wave of reflective centering could flood around this planet like the birdsong preceding sunrise if every person woke up some fine day and hung up that sign for themselves. I put an astronomy/cosmology twist to mine ….
    Thanks for the ref to “yearofkindness”

  3. What a great idea – hope the poster is doing it’s job!!

  4. This is one of the most memorable quotes I found in Julia Cameron’s book, The Artist’s Way (and there are many!) “Treating yourself like a precious object will make you strong.” I actually came online to remember the exact wording of it so that I can share it in a workshop I am developing. So many of us set goals, don’t meet them and then beat ourselves up…that doesn’t help! We are precious and blossom under such care. Great post!

Leave a Reply

