Melbourne Botanic Gardens

I was in the fair city of Melbourne a couple of weeks ago, and while I was there I went for a stroll through the Botanic Gardens, to get some ideas for my garden and to take a break from shopping.

I love the big, open parks in Melbourne. And no, I don’t know those people…

There was some great sculpture…

I love sculpture in gardens…especially coming across it when you least expect it…

Bare tree branches against the winter sky…

Purple salvia, blue-green aloe, with yellow leaves in background

This scene is like an outpost for Victorian explorers in the remote jungle – like there may be lions lurking nearby…

I stood at the edge of the lake and soon had an armada of swans heading  towards me, cruising for snacks…

The surface of the lake was carpeted in moss. It made for an interesting background effect against the black, red and white of the swans.

These grasses are fantastic, but I don’t think I’d be willing to have them in my garden for fear of them escaping into the bush.

You can see why they call them red hot pokers!

An aloe plant a little bit the worse for wear…

The grass was lit up by the afternoon sun as I left the gardens – I love the way it throws every blade into glowing 3D.


This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

