In the Beginning…

 I’m sitting here asking myself what I want this blog to be. A diary of one woman’s stab at semi-self-sufficiency in rural Tasmania? Musings on environmental and social issues close to home and worldwide? A platform to get my creative juices flowing and rediscover my writing chops after years of brain- and soul-numbing office work? A forum in which to discover like-minded people and connect with my ‘tribe’?

Answer: I think all the above, plus whatever other random and assorted reasons I come up with along the way to keep writing here.

So firstly, a bit about me. Well really that depends which ‘me’ we’re talking about. The outside me, the externals that encapsulate my life, are:

  • Female
  • Recently single
  • Living on 50 acres in the Derwent Valley, Tasmania, Australia
  • Office worker

That’s my life in dot points. The reality is somewhat more complex and, I hope, more interesting.

A few years ago I was sitting in an air-conditioned donger in a mining town in remote Western Australia. I worked 12 hour shifts, 5am to 5pm, for a trucking company contracted to one of the dirtiest and most polluting mines around. the work bored me out of my mind, and the other girl in the office hated me so much she refused to speak to me.

Anyway, in the midst of all this, on one particularly boring day, I asked myself: what do I really, really want? Surprisingly, the answer that came up was not ‘own my island’ or ‘become a famous movie actress’. Nope, the answer that came to me when I asked that question was that I wanted to live in the country, on lots of land. So I did a bit of surfing on the net, and found all the locations in Australia that I could afford to buy a sizeable chunk of land (excluding desert areas, this came down to about two places). Six months later I found myself winging my way to Tassie on a property reconnoitering trip, and purchased my 50 acre block in the beautiful Derwent Valley.

Fast forward to the present: I am camping on said block, without electricity, water or heating, whilst working full-time and attempting to build a house. I say ‘attempting’ because what seemed like a fairly straightforward process at the beginning is starting to feel like an episode of Grand Designs crossed with Into the Wild.

As well as building a house, I hope to learn how to grow my own fruit and veggies, find a career that I actually like, and get to know the people and places of Tasmania much better. I hope you enjoy reading about my journey – feel free to post your comments, and suggestions/useful advice from others doing the same kind of thing are welcome also.

So, in the spirit of adventure, courage, and love of nature – let’s begin.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to In the Beginning…

  1. Wow – that’s an amazing feat!! I am a total urbanite but every so often the idea of country, land and space sounds like bliss.

  2. mimaranda says:

    It’s great and I don’t think I could do without it now I’m here… but every now and then I think of all the cool bars in Melbourne, and the shopping, and amazing mix of cultures and subcultures and have withdrawal pains…

  3. Pingback: The Molesworth Diaries Turn One! | themolesworthdiaries

Leave a Reply

